All posts tagged Oxford

Widespread Panic
April 22, 1989
John Brown’s Farm
Oxford, MS

Set 1

01 – I’m Not Alone
02 – Driving Song >
03 – B of D
04 – Impossible
05 – Knocking’ Around the Zoo
” we’re gonna take a shocking break. But we’ll play some more for you in just a minute.

Set 2

06 – intro
“don’t hesitate to pick up that aluminum. Or anything else. Out in the water there. If you see any
floaters of any kind, don’t get scared. You can pick those up too.” – JB
07 – L.A. >
08 – Gimme
09 – Barstools and Dreamers
10 – Cream Puff War >
11 – Dear Mr. Fantasy
(Dave tells crowd they can’t play anymore, “according to the authorities”)

Encore 1

12 – Chilly Water
JB “Thanks a lot. We are gonna ride on.”

Encore 2

13 – crowd banter. Yoko Ono.
14 – Mr. Soul
15 – Can’t Find My Way Home

NOTES: ‘I’m not Alone’ is cut at the beginning; ‘I’m Not Alone’ just JB and Houser; there is a splice between the end of Barstools and the beginning of Cream Puff War; Chilly Water fades in.

Based on the cuts in the tape and taking into consideration the band’s banter from the stage, I am guessing that there were two encores. It is possible the final three songs are an encore from another show entirely, however, this combination of songs (Chilly, Mr. Soul, CFMWH) has never been played, at least according to the Everyday Companion.

“I like that shirt.” Two different people say this near the mics during this show… once after I’m Not Alone and once after Dear Mr. Fantasy. Must’ve been some shirt.

This is a relatively early version of I’m Not Alone and features slightly different lyrics.

Also, the crowd banter before Mr Soul is pretty hilarious. Check it out.

This tape may have come from Rick Sherman’s collection.

Source: unknown mics > unknown cassette > unknown Dat > Sony PCM-300 > Komplete Audio 6 > Audacity > FLAC

Tape supplied by: Jason Grant. Transferred and converted by: Ted Rockwell

Widespread Panic
November 16, 1990
Oxford, MS

Set 1: Space Wrangler, Heaven, Porch Song, Rock, Travelin’ Light, And It Stoned Me, Weight Of The World, Smokestack Lightning, Chilly Water, Pigeons > A of D > It Ain’t No Use, C. Brown

Set 2

1) Holden Oversoul
2) Jack
3) Dog Song
4) Papa Legba
5) Walkin’ (for your love)
6) Fishwater

7) crowd
8) Gimme (a Kiss on Tuesday) >
9) Mr. Soul
10) Sleepy Monkey
11) Love Tractor >
12) Last Dance

Cut after Gimme but before Mr. Soul

After Holden
‘That song was called Plato (PlayDoh?) in Paradise, I hope you liked it.’

JB Sings during Gimme
‘Give me a lift here Waker’

Sleepy Monkey features JB singing a different verse
‘I Woke to the noise of bugs and splash a sunrise on my brain
Took a look at the swim saw a fin and jumped in
and I jumped back and scaled out again
I’m going down’

Recording info:
Taped by Sam Holt, Possibly plugged into Hardy Ross’ AKG 522 > Sony D5 Cassette master

Tape supplied by Sam Holt
Transfer by Ted Rockwell

photo 3

Artwork by JT Lucchesi

Widespread Panic
Millett Hall, Miami University,
Oxford, OH

1: Pleas > Conrad, Happy Child > Heaven, Airplane > Just Kissed My Baby, Holden Oversoul > I’m Not Alone, Radio Child > Fishwater

2: The Take Out > Porch Song, Blackout Blues, Impossible > Walkin’ (For Your Love), Pilgrims, L.a. > Proving Ground > Mercy > Flat Foot Flewzy

E: West Virginia, Ain’t Life Grand, Mr. Soul

[First ‘Radio Child’; ‘Night People’ rap during ‘Just Kissed My Baby’; Jackopierce opened]

Artwork by JT Lucchesi

Widespread Panic
Millett Hall
Miami, OH.

Set 1:

01: She Caught The Katy
02: A of D
03: Space Wrangler >
04: Blackout Blues
05: Pickin’ Up The Pieces
06: Walk On
07: Machine >
08: Barstools and Dreamers
09: Radio Child

Set 2:

01: Ain’t Life Grand >
02: Flat Foot Flewzy
03: C. Brown
04: It Ain’t No Use >
05: Nobody’s Loss
06: Chilly Water >
07: Drums >
08: Pleas >
09: Chilly Water


01: End of the Show
02: Tallboy

Source: Schoeps CMC64 > Sonosax SX-M2 > hhb
Transfer: Tascam DA20MKII > Coax > M-Audio 24/96 > Cool-Edit (Re-Sample) > CDWave > FLAC
Taped by Adam Gross. Transferred by Trey Woodruff on 2003-06-09. Tapes provided by Ben Morrison.


Widespread Panic
Tad Smith Coliseum, University of Mississippi
Oxford, MS
October 29, 1992

01. Diner
02. Holden Oversoul >
03. Chilly Water
04. Send Your Mind
05. Better Off >
06. Makes Sense To Me
07. Sleepy Monkey >
08. Worry >
01. Hatfield >
02. Walkin’
03. Space Wrangler >
04. Travelin’ Light >
05. Porch Song

06. crowd
07. The Last Straw >
08. Flat Foot Flewzy

[‘Maggot Brain’ tease before ‘The Last Straw’; The Radiators and Allgood also appeared]

Source: Nakamichi cm300/cp4 > Teac DA-P20 @ 48.0khz
Transferred, Edited, & Seeded by D.P. Swint

Widespread Panic
The Grove,
University of Mississippi,
Oxford, MS

0: A of D > Pigeons, Travelin’ Light > Machine > Barstools and Dreamers, Stop-Go > Rock, Worry, C. Brown > Proving Ground, Love Tractor, Porch Song, Space Wrangler > Impossible > Conrad > Drums > Heaven > Contentment Blues > Chilly Water
E: The Last Straw, Mr. Soul

[The Megaphones opened]

Rules followed:


This show available as an official WP Archives Porch Songs Release

Widespread Panic
Tad Smith Coliseum
University of Mississippi
Oxford, MS.

Set 1:

01. Proving Ground >
02. Blackout Blues >
03. Proving Ground,
04. Wondering,
05. Rebirtha >
06. Papa Legba,
07. Stop-Go >
08. Dear Mr. Fantasy,
09. Radio Child,
10. Conrad

Set 2:

01. Send Your Mind >
02. Love Tractor,
03. Aunt Avis >
04. Driving Song >
05. Tall Boy > Jam >
06. Driving Song >
07. Airplane > Take Off Jam >
08. Drums >
09. Raise The Roof >
10. Entering A Black Hole Backwards >
11. Chilly Water *


12. Tacos >
13. Help Me Somebody >
14. Porch Song

* Small cut (~3 seconds) in Chilly. Fades applied.

[Slow ‘Porch Song’; Joan Osborne opened]

Source: EV-RE20 > SBM1 > D8
Taped and Transferred by Michael Wilker
Seeded by Martin Medley.

Thanks to Michael for letting me borrow the DATs!

Flyer courtesy of Suzanne Knievel-Holland


Widespread Panic
Millett Hall, Miami University,
Oxford, OH

1: Henry Parsons Died > One Arm Steve > Space Wrangler > C. Brown, Driving Song > Red Hot Mama > Driving Song > Bear’s Gone Fishin’ > Fishwater

2: Sometimes, Holden Oversoul, Hatfield, Wondering, Tall Boy > Drums > Jam, Machine > Barstools and Dreamers, Travelin’ Light

E: Imitation Leather Shoes

[‘Another Brick In The Wall Part II’ tease by Jojo after ‘Bear’s Gone Fishin”; ‘Mountain Jam’ tease by Dave during ‘Wondering’; ‘White Rabbit’ and ‘Franklin’s Tower’ teases by Dave after ‘Drums’; ‘Thank You Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin’ rap during ‘Barstools and Dreamers’]

Widespread Panic
April 29, 1992
Oxford, MS

01 Weight of the World
02 Diner
03 Walkin’
04 Hatfield
05 Makes Sense to Me
06 Sleepy Monkey
07 Fishwater
08 Travelin’ Light
09 Better Off
10 Barstools & Dreamers

Notes: Tape flip between Tracks 6 and 7, no music lost; missing ‘Mercy’, ‘Proving Ground’ and ‘Space Wrangler’ (encore)

Source: Unknown Mics > Cass/0 > Cass/1
Taper: Unknown (seed from Mike Dempsey)
Transfer by: BobbyHurley