Neal Casal

All posts tagged Neal Casal

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photos by Andy Tennille (view full gallery)


robotaper’s source:

Widespread Panic
The Joint
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
Las Vegas, NV

Set 1:
01. Intro
02. No Sugar Tonight/No Mother Nature
03. Good People>
04. Bust It Big
05. Jack
06. Who Do You Belong To?
07. Poorhouse Of Positive Thinking
08. Stevens Cat
09. Little Kin
10. Action Man

Set 2:
11. Intro
12. North
13. Chilly Water>
14. Cease Fire>
15. Driving Song>
16. Pilgrims>
17. Drums>
18. Jam>
19. Driving Song>
20. Chilly Water
21. Good Morning Little School Girl*
22. New Speedway Boogie*

23. End Of The Show*
24. High Time We Met*

* w/Members of Chris Robinson Brotherhood: Chris Robinson on vocals, Neal Casal on guitar and vocals, and Adam MacDougall on keyboards

Source: Neumann AK43(NOS)>LC3KA>KM100>Grace Designs Lunatec ACM V3>Marantz PMD661MKII(24/96)
Location: OTS, Directly behind board, SLOC, 7′ high
Recorded by: Rob O’Brien – robotaper

Coloartist’s source:

Widespread Panic
The Joint @ The Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
Las Vegas, NV

Set 1:

01 Intro 1
02 No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature
03 Good People >
04 Bust It Big
05 Jack >
06 Who Do You Belong To?
07 The Poorhouse of Positive Thinking
08 Steven’s Cat
09 Little Kin
10 Action Man

Set 2:

01 Intro 2
02 North >
03 Chilly Water >
04 Cease Fire >
05 Driving Song >
06 Pilgrims >
07 Drums* >
08 Driving Song >
09 Chilly Water
10 Good Morning Little School Girl**
11 New Speedway Boogie**
12 Crowd


13 End of the Show***,
14 High Time We Went**

* with Tony Leone on percussion
** with Chris Robinson on vocals, Neal Casal on guitar, Adam MacDougall on keyboards
*** with Neal Casal on guitar, Adam MacDougall on keyboards

[First ‘Steven’s Cat’; ‘Run Like Hell’ tease after ‘Cease Fire’; ‘Third Stone From The Sun’ jam after ‘Drums’; Last ‘New Speedway Boogie’ – 10/27/11, 188 shows; ‘Pink Panther’ tease before ‘High Time We Went’]

Schoeps ccm41>DinA>KC5>CMC6>analog>788T (HPF 0) 24/48
OTS, DFC, Section behind SBD – 8′ high

Recorded by Bennett Schwartz

Photos by Andy Tennille

Widespread Panic
Orpheum Theatre
Memphis, Tenn.

Set One:

01 tuning
02 Disco
03 Lil’ Kin
04 Henry Parsons Died
05 Cotton Was King
06 Greta >
07 Let’s Get the Show on the Road >
08 North
09 May Your Glass Be Filled
10 Tall Boy

Running Time: 1:02

Set Two:

11 tuning
12 Tail Dragger
13 Barstools and Dreamers >
14 Gimme
15 Ride Me High >
16 Love Tractor
17 Angels On High
18 Old Neighborhood# >
19 Drums >
20 Slippin’ Into Darkness*
21 You Can’t Always Get What You Want**

22 encore break
23 Stop Breakin’ Down Blues***
24 Can’t Find My Way Home**

Running Time: 2:03
# “Give Up the Funk” jam after Old Neighborhood
* with Chris Robinson on harmonica and vocals, Neal Casal on guitar and Steve Lopez on percussion
** with Chris Robinson on vocals, Neal Casal on guitar and Adam McDougall on organ
*** with Chris Robinson on harmonica and vocals, Neal Casal on guitar and Adam McDougall on organ

(Entire show with Duane Trucks on drums)

Avantone CK-1 (cardioid) > Edirol UA-5 > Edirol R-09 (@24/48)
nearly dead center from balcony second row

Taped, transferred and seeded by: MSTaper
*** A Team Dirty South Recording ***

This show exceeded my expectations for a Sunday show at the 2,500 seat Orpheum Theater in Memphis where I saw B.B. King in 1981 and U2 as an opening act for the J. Geils Band.

After a nice just over an hour first set, the band brought the heat during the second set and invited members of the Chris Robinson Brotherhood to close out the show.

Thanks to Jessie (discopanic) for the clamp space in the center of the balcony.

Get well Todd Nance!



Tape > Share > Support!



Widespread Panic
The Orpheum Theater
Los Angeles, CA

Thank you Widespread Panic & Crew

Set 1: (70 mins)

01 Intro 1
02 Tall Boy >
03 Worry
04 Tickle the Truth,
05 Climb To Safety >
06 Hatfield
07 Time Waits*
08 Can’t Get High*
09 Genesis*
10 Cream Puff War
11 Action Man

Set 2: (90 mins)

01 Intro 2
02 Rock
03 Christmas Katie >
04 Chilly Water
05 Tail Dragger**
06 Time Waits For No One**
07 Impossible >
08 Travelin’ Light >
09 Drums >
10 Pilgrims
11 Protein Drink
12 Sewing Machine
13 crowd


14 Honkey Red^
15 May Your Glass Be Filled
16 Ain’t Life Grand

* w/ Nicky Sanders on fiddle (Steep Canyon Rangers)
** Neal Casal (Hard Working Americans)
^ First Time Played (Murray McLaughlin – lyrics)
– Edie Jackson as sign language interperter
– Show #500 for Widespread Panic’s Lighting Director, the talented Paul Hoffman

Schoeps MK22>NOS>KC5>CMC6>analog>788T (HPF 0) 24/48
FOB/1 seat off center aisle on left Row N Seat 3 , stand @ 8′
dsp: 788t > wavelab5 > cdwave > wavelab5 > flac(7)

Animated gif by David Huchteman

Recorded and photos by Bennett Schwartz





‘Honky Red’ Song Origin compiled by Burnthday

Following the debut of ‘Honky Red’ in L.A., Dave Schools stepped to the mic and he said – “that was a song my daddy showed us.” Well, here’s Uncle Tom’s version, featuring Eddie Ponder of the Flying Burrito Brothers on the cajon and vocals, Steve Smith on harp and vocals and on guitar and lead vocals, John Rhys. Music producer, engineer, singer-songwriter… and father to one David Allen Schools. 

So, what is Honky Red? Those stains on a sink are red rings of cheap “Honky Red” wine. This is a wino song, and about one who apparently left quite an impression on song-writer Murray McLauchlan. Note that the lyrics have changed over the years – JB is using Uncle Tom’s lyrics “when I need a drink I’m chained to a sink” in place of “stains on a sink” from the original version. Also, the wounded veteran’s persona evolves in accordance with history, having left his leg in ‘Nam, France, and now Iraq.

-Burnthday (Uncle Tom story thanks to captainHAT)

This is an old Murray McLauchlan song which Murray doesn’t perform anymore. Some would see it as politically incorrect but, like Murray’s “Louisa Can’t Feed another Child”, which some took to be a pro-choice anthem, it’s really just a portrait and draws no conclusions. I think it says more about the listener than the writer if someone thinks it ‘glorifies drinking’ or censures the unfortunate.

Murray tells the story of opening the “Tonight’s the Night” tour with Neil Young in the ’70’s and the other band on the bill was the Everly Brothers whose band included a piano player named Warren Zevon. Warren and Murray swapped songs and each found a favorite in the other’s repertoire. Murray ‘traded’ Honky Red to Warren for ‘Carmelita’ which he recorded on his self-titled album. When we had Warren on the CBC radio show we did in the early 90’s Murray had a chance to remind Warren that the deal had been to each record the other’s song and received a heart-felt apology. One can only imagine the version Warren might have come up with.

Calgary songwriter extraordinaire Tom Phillips and I were sitting around playing acoustic guitars one night when we both lived in the same three-story walk-up apartment building a few years ago and he asked me if I could remember the song. I did and sang it a number of times over the next months and people always commented on how much they liked it. So here it is, it’s fun to sing and the third verse has one of the greatest ‘when I die’ perspectives ever written.

With Murray’s permission I updated the war in which our protagonist had lost his leg by thirty years.

-Kit Jonson (See original article: